The Frat Pack Tribute Site Logo

The Frat Pack Tribute Earmuff Awards - 2006

Sunshine Leads 2006 Earmuff Awards

Little Miss Sunshine continued it's impressive pre-Oscar run by taking home three awards including Best Picture at the Second Annual Frat Pack Earmuff Awards, broadcast on Wednesday, February 21st. The indie-comedy also won Earmuffs for Best Supporting Actor (Steve Carell) and Best Musical Moment ("Superfreak"). Sunshine was tied for the most awards alongside Talladega Nights: The Ballad of Ricky Bobby and Tenacious D in the Pick of Destiny. The awards were broadcast at in a special episode of the Frat Pack Tribute's podcast. The winners were previously announced at an event held on the UCLA campus on February 10th, according to Frat Pack Tribute site founder Kevin Crossman.

Double-nominee Will Ferrell received the Best Actor award not for Talladega but for his more dramatic role in Stranger Than Fiction. Ferrell also won for Best Character ("Ricky Bobby") and Talladega, which had a leading 24 nominations, raced to wins in Best Supporting Actress (Amy Adams) and Best Scene-Play ("Baby Jesus"). Other acting winners were Ferrell's Talladega Nights costar Sacha Baron Cohen for Best Performance by a Frat Pack Friend in Borat... and Jennifer Aniston for Best Actress in The Break-Up.

Tenacious D did well in two categories well-known to Frat Pack fans: Best Celebrity Cameo and Best Frat Pack Cameo. The winners from the rock-comedy Pick of Destiny were Dave Grohl ("Satan") and Ben Stiller ("Guitar Store Dude"). The group's website "Tenacious D Rock The Internet" was chosen as Best Multimedia Feature.

Other Earmuff category stalwarts included Best Catch-Phrase ("Is there anything worse than having to throw away your porn collection" from You, Me, and Dupree), Best Sex Scene ("G-Girl Breaks the Bed" from My Super-Ex Girlfriend), and Best Non-Movie Appearance (Steve Carell as Michael Scott - The Office). A new category showed how Frat Pack fans felt about Fox's thoughtless marketing and release strategy of Luke Wilson's well-reviewed comedy Idiocracy. The studio won the Chee-eeese Award for Dubious Distinction.

Three family-friendly films won technical Earmuff awards. Jack Black's Nacho Libre won the Ron Burgundy Award for Best Hair ("Nacho's Mexican Fro") and the Mugatu Award for Best Costume Design. Owen Wilson won the inaugural Heat Vision Voiceover Award for his vocal work in Cars, and Ben Stiller's Night at the Museum won the award for Best Visual Effects.

The Earmuff's also honored Stuart Cornfeld with a Lifetime Achievement Award. Cornfeld is Ben Stiller's producing partner at Red Hour Films, responsible for Frat Pack classics such as Zoolander, Starsky & Hutch, and Dodgeball. Cornfeld has also acted in Old School and Fast Times at Ridgemont High.

The Earmuffs honor films from The Frat Pack, the unofficial name for the clique of comedy actors who have frequently worked together in the past few years. The Frat Pack are Ben Stiller, Vince Vaughn, Owen Wilson, Will Ferrell, Luke Wilson, Jack Black and Steve Carell. The Earmuff Academy of fans from the Frat Pack community vote on the nominations and awards. The Frat Pack Tribute website and podcast salute Hollywood's comedy clique and can be found at

The ceremony featured presenters from popular podcast shows including Five Hundy by Midnight, Podcast 411, Filmspotting, Amateur Traveler, The Office Alliance, Big Brry, The MacCast, and That's What She Said.

Overall Winners:

Listen to the Earmuff Awards Ceremony Podcast Episode

Get the Flash Player to see this player.

Complete List of Nominees (Winners shown in bold)

Best Picture

Best Actor

Best Actress

Best Supporting Actor

Best Supporting Actress

Best Performance by a Frat Pack Friend

Best Character

Best Scene-Play (Best scene in a movie)

Best Catch Phrase (funny even out of context / potential tshirt slogan)

Best Sound Bite (audio component is crtical for humor or context – not feasible on a tshirt)

Best Musical Moment

Best Non-Movie Appearance

Multimedia Feature (trailer, web, or DVD)

Best Visual Effects

The Heat Vision Voiceover Award

Mugatu Award for Best Costume Design

Ron Burgundy Award for Best Hair

Luke Zoolander Award for Best Frat Pack Cameo

Lance Armstrong Award for Best Celebrity Cameo

Best Use of Drugs/Alcohol

Best Sex Scene

Best Community-Generated Content

The Chee-eeese Award for Dubious Achievement

Lifetime Achievement Award

Complete List of Winners

Earmuffs Timeline

January 1, 2007 - Nomination ballots completed
January 18, 2007 - Nomination ballots due
January 21, 2007 - Nominations announced on Frat Pack Tribute podcast and website
January 31, 2007 - Awards ballots due
February 10, 2007 - Winners awards announced at ceremony held at UCLA
February 21, 2007 - Broadcast of awards ceremony on special episode of Frat Pack Tribute podcast

The nominees and award recipients will be selected by the Frat Pack Tribute Earmuff Academy, the Frat Pack fans who have contributed to our site, podcast, and forums.

Nomination Announcment

Talladega Nights led all films with 24 total nominations. Other multiple nominees included Tenacious D in the Pick of Destiny (16), The Break-Up (13), Stranger Than Fiction (10), You, Me and Dupree (9), My Super-Ex Girlfriend (5), Little Miss Sunshine (4), Nacho Libre and Night at the Museum (3), Idiocracy and The Daily Show (2).

Leading individual nominations were Will Ferrell and Steve Carell with 5 total nominations each, Ben Stiller and John C. Reilly (3), Vince Vaughn, Owen Wilson, Jack Black, Sacha Baron Cohen, Jon Favreau, and Emma Thompson (2).